Baby Potatoes with Caramelized Shallots and Thyme Flowers

I’m growing thyme in my backyard, and it started sprouting flowers. Apparently, they are edible, so why not put them to use! (They pretty much just taste like thyme…)

thymepotatoes

Ingredients (serves 2-4):

  • 16 oz baby potatoes, I got a mixed blend
  • 1 small shallot, thinly sliced
  • 1 tbs butter
  • 1 tsp thyme flowers, or just thyme of course
  • 1 tsp truffle oil (for fun!), or olive oil

Steam the potatoes for 16 minutes. While they are steaming, melt the butter over medium heat in a saucepan. Add the sliced shallots and cook on low heat until they have caramelized to a light to medium brown. Towards the end, add the thyme and truffle oil. Fork the cooked potatoes into the saucepan with the caramelized shallot mixture, stir to coat and cook another minute. Serve and enjoy!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looks simple and delicious! I think I will give it a try one of these days!

Leave a comment