Pumpkin Butter

This is scrumptious. Like Apple Butter? Try it with Pumpkin! This is straight up from Food & Wine Magazine, with some minor alterations. I’ll rewrite it in my own words, but I cannot take credit for it!

20181007_182346

Ingredients:

  • 1 3lb pumpkin turned into puree (follow my recipe here) — Food & Wine wants you to coat the shells with vegetable oil, but meh
  • 1/4 cup apple cider
  • 1/3 cup dark brown sugar (Food & Wine wants you to use light brown, but whatever, I used what I had in my pantry!)
  • 3 tbs honey
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
  • pinch of ground cloves
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Puree your pumpkin in a large bowl / stand mixer / blender. Add in the rest of the ingredients and puree until smooth.

Pour mixture into a large saucepan over medium heat, then lower heat to simmer for about 25 minutes, stirring every couple of minutes so that it won’t stick, until the mixture has reduced and has turned darker in color.

Let cool for 30 minutes, then scoop into some cute mason jars or something.

Spread on toast and enjoy! This also pairs deliciously well on baguette under a schmear of delice de bourgogne.

 

Leave a comment